GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:35 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Beginner's Question -lines not showing textview
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 3:50 am 
Familiar Face

I'm a beginner at all of this, and extremely rusty at C, so please bear with me. :wink:

I have a main function which does all the GTK stuff to define a window with 2 buttons and a scrolling window with a text view. These 3 areas are within a vbox. For ease in this question, call back function when button 1 is pressed in "B1", a separate C file from the main.c. B1 in turn calls other separate .C files, any of which may output a text status message to the text view. I have the widgets globally declared. If B1 or any of the other functions issues a message, it goes through a common C function to post it into the text view buffer.

The problem I am having is that nothing is displayed in the text view until the original call back function exits. How do I make these status messages show "real-time"?

I have tried showing the buffer, the scrolled window, the vbox and the window (even all together!) in the logging function but nothing shows.

Thanks for the input! :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 7:27 pm 
Never Seen the Sunlight

It's hard to say without looking at your code, however, I can give you a few pointers.

First, rather than declaring your widgets as globals (that could get quite "big") we often use a structure declared in main() and pass it to our callback functions as user_data. An example of using this method can be seen in Execute command into a GtkTextView (C and Libglade)

As for making sure the status bar is updated quickly, you might want to use this handy bit of code.

Code:
while (gtk_events_pending ()) gtk_main_iteration();