GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:33 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: gtk glade question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:44 am 
Familiar Face

Hello Ladies, Sir's;
I'm a hobbyst programmer, only 2 months in linux world, can code only in assembly and english is not my mother language, so, be patience, I'm trying to do my best to explain.
I have coded a simple window example using gtk, without using glade, from a tutorial that I have found on the net writed in C, translated it to asm and it worked. After, my next goal is to create the same program, but now, using glade to draw the window. So, I have coded it and it worked.
Generally; from the C point of view, you end your program with "return", and after that the program end.
The last line of code, "call exit" function to terminate the process. So, I have tried change that call to a "syscall sys_exit", but the program does not terminate, stay like a zoombie process, I think that the program expect some signal or something that I cannot know how to deal.
The question is:
How can I end the pseudo code below using syscall sys_exit (__NR 60) ?

Code:
.code
align 16
_start:
   gtk_init,0,0
   gtk_builder_new
   mov builder,rax
   gtk_builder_add_from_file,builder,offset tut,0
   gtk_builder_get_object,builder,offset win
   mov window,rax
   gtk_builder_connect_signals,builder,0
   gtk_widget_show,window
   gtk_main
   exit,0   ;<---- here is the point, this work fine, but if I use "sys_exit,0" does not work
end _start

the glade file used:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<glade-interface>
  <!-- interface-requires gtk+ 2.24 -->
  <!-- interface-naming-policy project-wide -->
  <widget class="GtkWindow" id="window1">
    <property name="can_focus">False</property>
    <property name="events"></property>