GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:04 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Catching Window Focus Loss Event/Signal
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:04 pm 

Hello,

I'm a beginner with GTK and want to realize some projects with PyGTK.
I've done only one other GUI-project yet and this was with AutoHotkey for Windows. Additionally I have some experience with webdesign using PHP and HTML with a bit of JavaScript.

You'll guess that PyGTK is something really new for me, though I have some experience with Python itself.

For my current project which is just an idea so far I wanted to test the essential concepts to see if the whole project can be realized at all.

The one essential thing I could not get working yet is catching any signal when the toplevel window loses focus (because the user clicks somewhere outside the window).
I could not find any signal which is sent in this case. All I could find seems to be working for widgets like buttons but not for the "window widget".

Is there a way of calling a function when the window loses focus at all?
another thing I was thinking about: Is it possible to add code that's run during the main-loop? - Could be a workaround :D

Best regards,

Lucas

Post subject: Re: Catching Window Focus Loss Event/Signal
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:50 pm 
GTK+ Guru

You want the GtkWidget "notify::is-active" signal.
This is C not Python but here's an example:

http://www.gtkforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=4728

Post subject: Re: Catching Window Focus Loss Event/Signal
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:37 pm 

Hello "zerohour",

I want to thank you very much. You've just hit the point and your linked posting showed me the "notify::is-active" signal which as I found out is called everytime the focus changes to or from (!) the window it is connected to.