GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:53 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Displaying an image in GtkImage widget
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:12 pm 
Familiar Face

Hi all,

I'm a novice in gtk+ programming; I should actually use it for doing a project. My project is based on ARToolKit which is a library for building Augmented Reality (AR) applications. In short, AR is the superimposition of virtual imagery on the real world. More information on ARToolKit can be found @ http://www.hitl.washington.edu/artoolkit/. So, I have to use GTK+ as interface tool and obviously integrate the interface with ARToolKit....something really unclear to me up till now :shock:. I'll be glad if somebody could comment on this as well.

Something I want to do is to display an image in a GtkImage widget after choosing which image to display via a combo box. For testing purposes, I've used a button (i.e. click on the button & display the image).

I'm trying the following code (on the button - onclick event), but it doesn't work :( :

Code:
GtkWidget *img_objectdesign;
img_objectdesign = gtk_image_new_from_file ("filename.jpg");
gtk_widget_show(img_objectdesign);

I use Glade to design the interface and I work on Windows.

Actually I obtained the following code on the web, so I modified it as above because on the interface window I put a GtkImage widget named as "img_objectdesign":

Code:
GtkWidget *image;
image = gtk_image_new_from_file ("filename.jpg");
gtk_widget_show(image);

I don't know if I'm doing the right thing or if something is missing, but one thing is for sure is that nothing's happening!! I click on the button and no image is displayed. :(