GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:09 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: GTK+ Multithreading related question
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:05 am 
Familiar Face

Hello all,

I am new to GTK+ and hence I am going to ask you the experts one of my issue that I am kind of hit the wall...

I am designing an application that deals with an analog (telephoney Modem). The idea is when the user clicks on a button the modem will dial a specific number and reads a remote user input from the telephone keypress. Also, there is a hangup button that users could push to end the call at any time.

My issue is, I start dialing the phone number and the rest of the GUI is all blocked. so I have introduced two threads invoked by button clicks, one for dialing and the other for hanging up the line.

Code:
  1 #include <all-required-headers.h>
  3 GtkWidget* button;
  4 GtkWidget* button1;
  5 pthread_t a_thread;
  6 pthread_t b_thread;
  7 pthread_mutex_t mutex;
  9 int modem_fd;
11 void* threadfunc_dial(void* arg);
12 void* threadfunc_hangup(void* arg);
14 void destroy(GtkWidget* widget, gpointer data)
15 {
16     gtk_main_quit();
17 }
19 void* threadfunc_dial(void* arg)
20 {
21     pthread_mutex_lock(&mutex);
22     printf("threadfunc_call: dialing modem now..\n");
24     gdk_threads_enter();
25     dial_number("4164161234"); // phone to dial out
26     gdk_threads_leave();
28     pthread_mutex_unlock(&mutex);
29     return NULL;
30 }
32 void* threadfunc_hangup(void* arg)
33 {
34     pthread_mutex_lock(&mutex);
35     printf("threadfunc_call: dialing modem now..\n");
37     gdk_threads_enter();
38     write_port("ATH",modem_fd);
39     gdk_threads_leave();
41     pthread_mutex_unlock(&mutex);
42     return NULL;
43 }
45 void buttonclicked(GtkWidget* widget, gpointer data)
46 {
47     int res;
48     printf("starting DIAL thread ..\n");