GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:42 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Checking GTK+ Installation On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:17 pm 
Offline
Familiar Face

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:43 pm
Posts: 14
OK basically my subject says it all. I'm wanting to know if there are any standard ways of checking whether GTK+ is installed, on windows or linux. I know alot of projects just install duplicates, but certainly that isn't very efficient. I was just wondering if there is a way to check since actual locations on the machine can vary with installations. One way I would presume would be the best way would be to check actual libs for GTK+ components like pango, glib, gobject... But again their physical locations vary.

Thanks for your time and help,
--Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 5:07 pm 
Offline
Familiar Face

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:43 pm
Posts: 14
Wow I guess this is a harder question than I thought it would be :P, I found out one thing, G_OS_WIN32 will tell us that the OS is windows, just check that and make a gboolean = true ifdef G_OS_WIN32.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 5:43 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:07 am
Posts: 563
Location: Portland, OR USA
During installation on Linux, autotools uses this check:

pkg-config --modversion gtk+-2.0

_________________
Micah Carrick - Forum Administrator
http://www.micahcarrick.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:27 am 
Offline
Familiar Face

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:43 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks for the reply, I would use pkg-config, but I can't assume that they have msys or cygwin installed. I could check for pkg-config or else check for GTK_BASEPATH, but is that really how pros check for GTK? Or do they just say if our application doesn't work, install GTK?

Thanks for the help,
--Alex


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:07 am
Posts: 563
Location: Portland, OR USA
No clue. Maybe take a look at gaim or gimp for Windows installers?

_________________
Micah Carrick - Forum Administrator
http://www.micahcarrick.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group