GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: minimum GTK runtime library size on win32
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:26 am
Posts: 2
I notice that on windows platform all the GTK programs require a runtime enviroment to be installed . And this runtime takes almost 30mb hard disk space. I think maybe not all the Dlls are neccessary for simple applications .So my question is " Is it possible to make a core GTK runtime which has the minimum size ?".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:10 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:07 am
Posts: 563
Location: Portland, OR USA
I'm not aware of anybody doing this, though it seems plausible to compile each library yourself, removing anything you don't need. However, that's a lot of work for a small (in my opinion) issue.

Any Windows application has dependencies, however, they're typically already provided by the OS or other applications. Obviously, the GTK+ runtime isn't provided by the OS. The the goal would be to have your installer first check for the availability of GTK+ and only download and install the runtime if it isn't already present.

With the storage capacities these days and high-speed internet, having code that can be built in Linux, OSX, and Windows trumps the size of the runtime environment in my opinion.

_________________
Micah Carrick - Forum Administrator
http://www.micahcarrick.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:26 am
Posts: 2
Thanks for reply.

Yes, any application needs many denpendcy but many win32 programs get support directly from the os what means they used the pre-installed lib or active control.

But what about Qt, as I remember to run a Qt helloworld on windows only need 2 dlls (about 6mb).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: One Idea...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:39 pm 
Offline
Familiar Face

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:54 pm
Posts: 7
What I did was execute my program without Gtk in the path. This presents a dialog for any missing DLLs. I did this to get a list of the DLLs I needed and then included those in the installer. My installer is about 3Mb while the size on disk is around 9Mb.

Nicholas


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group