GTK+ Forums

Discussion forum for GTK+ and Programming. Ask questions, troubleshoot problems, view and post example code, or express your opinions.
It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:27 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: gtk installation in windows xp
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:20 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
Hi all
how to install and run gtk and gtk applications in windows xp or vista.

can you please tell me the procedure and steps..
i googled a lot but no use.

any help it should appreciable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:05 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
if you want an installer, the best one I know of is the gladewin32 one:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gladewin32
if you want binaries, go here, select the version of gtk you want, and download the bundle package:
http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/binaries/win32/gtk+/

if the installer doesn't add itself the the %PATH%, or if you use the binary version, you can find my tutorial for putting
GTK into the windows %PATH% here:
http://dreblen.wordpress.com/2008/08/06 ... dows-path/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
if you want an installer, the best one I know of is the gladewin32 one:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gladewin32
if you want binaries, go here, select the version of gtk you want, and download the bundle package:
http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/binaries/win32/gtk+/

if the installer doesn't add itself the the %PATH%, or if you use the binary version, you can find my tutorial for putting
GTK into the windows %PATH% here:
http://dreblen.wordpress.com/2008/08/06 ... dows-path/


i refered these two links.
but no use still it is giving trouble for me.
http://www.gtkforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=1497
http://www.gtkforums.com/about894.html

Quote:
Package gtk+-2.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gtk+-2.0.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'gtk+-2.0' found


still having the problem
i set the environment variables for GTK\lib\pkgconfig
no use. still getting the same error.

any help it should be appreciable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:31 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
as I asked in one of your reference links, does your PKG_CONFIG_PATH directory have gtk+-2.0.pc?
also, which package did you download?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:57 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
as I asked in one of your reference links, does your PKG_CONFIG_PATH directory have gtk+-2.0.pc?
also, which package did you download?


1. cygwin
2. gcc
3. GTK

GTK\lib\pkgconfig contains gtk+-2.0.pc .
Environment variable:
Quote:

GTK_BASEPATH->C:\GTK

INCLUDE->C:\GTK\INCLUDE;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\GTK-2.0;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\GLIB-2.0;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\PANGO-1.0;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\CAIRO;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\ATK-1.0;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\GTKGLEXT-1.0;C:\GTK\LIB\GTK-2.0\INCLUDE;C:\GTK\LIB\GLIB-2.0\INCLUDE;C:\GTK\LIB\GTKGLEXT-1.0\INCLUDE;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\LIBGLADE-2.0;C:\GTK\INCLUDE\LIBXML2

LIB->C:\GTK\LIB

Path->%GTK_BASEPATH%\bin;C:\gcc\bin

PKG_CONFIG_PATH->C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig\gtk+-2.0.pc



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:59 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
PKG_CONFIG_PATH should be C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig (or %GTK_BASEPATH%\lib\pkgconfig)
It's supposed to be the path where *.pc files can be found, so if gtk+-2.0.pc (and others) are there, then that's what you want it set to


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:25 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
PKG_CONFIG_PATH should be C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig (or %GTK_BASEPATH%\lib\pkgconfig)
It's supposed to be the path where *.pc files can be found, so if gtk+-2.0.pc (and others) are there, then that's what you want it set to


yeah! i did that...
but no use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:47 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
are you using the windows command prompt or cygwin?
if you're using cygwin, type this:
[code=]echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH[/code]
if you're using cmd, type this:
[code=]echo %PKG_CONFIG_PATH%[/code]
they should report C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig (or /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig if you're using cygwin)
if they don't, try restarting the shell. if it still doesn't work after restarting the shell, try this:
cygwin:
[code=]export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig[/code]
cmd:
[code=]set PKG_CONFIG_PATH=C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig[/code]

also, saying "GTK" as the package doesn't really tell me much, can you provide the URL of what you downloaded?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:59 am 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
are you using the windows command prompt or cygwin?
if you're using cygwin, type this:
[code=]echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH[/code]
if you're using cmd, type this:
[code=]echo %PKG_CONFIG_PATH%[/code]
they should report C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig (or /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig if you're using cygwin)
if they don't, try restarting the shell. if it still doesn't work after restarting the shell, try this:
cygwin:
[code=]export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig[/code]
cmd:
[code=]set PKG_CONFIG_PATH=C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig[/code]

also, saying "GTK" as the package doesn't really tell me much, can you provide the URL of what you downloaded?



I am using cygwin.
Quote:
$ echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH
/cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig:C:\GTK\lib\pkgconfig


gtk-dev-2.12.9-win32-2 the package i installed.

and still having the same problem.
and also i installed glade tool.
i am able to create gui. but it is not generating source bcoz i am not found build button in that..(when we press build in linux glade tool it should generate src.)

what i have to do

any help it should appreciable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 3:30 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
if you start a windows shell (Start/Run/cmd.exe), what does this command output?
[code=]pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0[/code]
if it's the same as with cygwin, can you post the output of this command from cygwin:
[code=]ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig[/code]

The build button was removed in glade 3. You can learn more about glade 3 (and how to use it) here
http://www.micahcarrick.com/12-24-2007/ ... art-1.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:54 am 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
if you start a windows shell (Start/Run/cmd.exe), what does this command output?
[code=]pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0[/code]
if it's the same as with cygwin, can you post the output of this command from cygwin:
[code=]ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig[/code]



this is the output from cygwin
Quote:
$ pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0
Package gtk+-2.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gtk+-2.0.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'gtk+-2.0' found


Quote:
$ ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig
atk.pc gdkglext-win32-1.0.pc libart-2.0.pc
cairo-ft.pc gio-2.0.pc libcroco-0.6.pc
cairo-pdf.pc gio-unix-2.0.pc libglade-2.0.pc
cairo-png.pc gladeui-1.0.pc libgsf-1.pc
cairo-ps.pc glib-2.0.pc libgsf-win32-1.pc
cairo-svg.pc gmodule-2.0.pc libpng.pc
cairo-win32-font.pc gmodule-export-2.0.pc libpng12.pc
cairo-win32.pc gmodule-no-export-2.0.pc librsvg-2.0.pc
cairo.pc gobject-2.0.pc libxml-2.0.pc
fontconfig.pc gthread-2.0.pc pango.pc
freetype2.pc gtk+-2.0.pc pangocairo.pc
gdk-2.0.pc gtk+-win32-2.0.pc pangoft2.pc
gdk-pixbuf-2.0.pc gtk-engines-2.pc pangowin32.pc
gdk-win32-2.0.pc gtkglext-1.0.pc
gdkglext-1.0.pc gtkglext-win32-1.0.pc



this is the output from command prompt
Quote:
Package pixman-1 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `pixman-1.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'pixman-1', required by 'cairo', not found


Quote:
C:\>ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig
atk.pc gdkglext-win32-1.0.pc libart-2.0.pc
cairo-ft.pc gio-2.0.pc libcroco-0.6.pc
cairo-pdf.pc gio-unix-2.0.pc libglade-2.0.pc
cairo-png.pc gladeui-1.0.pc libgsf-1.pc
cairo-ps.pc glib-2.0.pc libgsf-win32-1.pc
cairo-svg.pc gmodule-2.0.pc libpng.pc
cairo-win32-font.pc gmodule-export-2.0.pc libpng12.pc
cairo-win32.pc gmodule-no-export-2.0.pc librsvg-2.0.pc
cairo.pc gobject-2.0.pc libxml-2.0.pc
fontconfig.pc gthread-2.0.pc pango.pc
freetype2.pc gtk+-2.0.pc pangocairo.pc
gdk-2.0.pc gtk+-win32-2.0.pc pangoft2.pc
gdk-pixbuf-2.0.pc gtk-engines-2.pc pangowin32.pc
gdk-win32-2.0.pc gtkglext-1.0.pc
gdkglext-1.0.pc gtkglext-win32-1.0.pc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:29 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
The build button was removed in glade 3. You can learn more about glade 3 (and how to use it) here
http://www.micahcarrick.com/12-24-2007/ ... art-1.html


yeah i had gone through the link.
from that i am trying to compile the example code...(tutorial.glade and main.c)
while converting the glade file to xml i am getting some errors
Quote:
$ gtk-builder-convert tutorial.glade tutorial.xml
/usr/bin/env: python: No such file or directory


what i have to do.
i think , i have to install python..

can you please provide me the link for python(for windows 2000)
and also please tell me the path where to install python and environment varaibles too.

any help it should be appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:10 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
ramesh wrote:
Quote:
C:\>ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig
atk.pc gdkglext-win32-1.0.pc libart-2.0.pc
cairo-ft.pc gio-2.0.pc libcroco-0.6.pc
cairo-pdf.pc gio-unix-2.0.pc libglade-2.0.pc
cairo-png.pc gladeui-1.0.pc libgsf-1.pc
cairo-ps.pc glib-2.0.pc libgsf-win32-1.pc
cairo-svg.pc gmodule-2.0.pc libpng.pc
cairo-win32-font.pc gmodule-export-2.0.pc libpng12.pc
cairo-win32.pc gmodule-no-export-2.0.pc librsvg-2.0.pc
cairo.pc gobject-2.0.pc libxml-2.0.pc
fontconfig.pc gthread-2.0.pc pango.pc
freetype2.pc gtk+-2.0.pc pangocairo.pc
gdk-2.0.pc gtk+-win32-2.0.pc pangoft2.pc
gdk-pixbuf-2.0.pc gtk-engines-2.pc pangowin32.pc
gdk-win32-2.0.pc gtkglext-1.0.pc
gdkglext-1.0.pc gtkglext-win32-1.0.pc

If that is from the windows command prompt, then you must have typed cmd while in cygwin which isn't what I wanted.
I'm trying to separate cygwin from the problem, because I've had $PATH related problems with it before.
So if you can try
[code=]pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0[/code]
in an actual windows command prompt (Start/Run "cmd.exe") and post what it says, I'd appreciate it.

As for the pixman-1 problem, none of my GTK installations on windows have a pixman-1.pc file and they work fine, so I don't know what the problem is there

Here's a python link
http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.5.2/
It's an installer, so you shouldn't need to do anything with environment variables


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:11 pm 
Offline
GTK+ Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:08 am
Posts: 259
Location: INDIA
dreblen wrote:
ramesh wrote:
Quote:
C:\>ls /cygdrive/c/GTK/lib/pkgconfig
atk.pc gdkglext-win32-1.0.pc libart-2.0.pc
cairo-ft.pc gio-2.0.pc libcroco-0.6.pc
cairo-pdf.pc gio-unix-2.0.pc libglade-2.0.pc
cairo-png.pc gladeui-1.0.pc libgsf-1.pc
cairo-ps.pc glib-2.0.pc libgsf-win32-1.pc
cairo-svg.pc gmodule-2.0.pc libpng.pc
cairo-win32-font.pc gmodule-export-2.0.pc libpng12.pc
cairo-win32.pc gmodule-no-export-2.0.pc librsvg-2.0.pc
cairo.pc gobject-2.0.pc libxml-2.0.pc
fontconfig.pc gthread-2.0.pc pango.pc
freetype2.pc gtk+-2.0.pc pangocairo.pc
gdk-2.0.pc gtk+-win32-2.0.pc pangoft2.pc
gdk-pixbuf-2.0.pc gtk-engines-2.pc pangowin32.pc
gdk-win32-2.0.pc gtkglext-1.0.pc
gdkglext-1.0.pc gtkglext-win32-1.0.pc

If that is from the windows command prompt, then you must have typed cmd while in cygwin which isn't what I wanted.
I'm trying to separate cygwin from the problem, because I've had $PATH related problems with it before.
So if you can try
[code=]pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0[/code]
in an actual windows command prompt (Start/Run "cmd.exe") and post what it says, I'd appreciate it.

As for the pixman-1 problem, none of my GTK installations on windows have a pixman-1.pc file and they work fine, so I don't know what the problem is there

Here's a python link
http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.5.2/
It's an installer, so you shouldn't need to do anything with environment variables


this is the output for Start/Run "cmd.exe"
Quote:
C:\Users\MIAMI>pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0
Package pixman-1 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `pixman-1.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'pixman-1', required by 'cairo', not found


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:10 pm 
Offline
Never Seen the Sunlight

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Falun, WI USA
try removing libpixman (or something like that) from cairo.pc as per Tor Lillqvist's email here
http://www.nabble.com/pixman-1-was-not- ... 42574.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group